Site Search

Jessica Janssen Selected for National Executive Leadership Program


Midland University is pleased to announce that Jessica Janssen, Vice President for Institutional Advancement, is one of 17 senior-level administrators in higher education nationwide selected by the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) to participate in the 2019–2020 Executive Leadership Academy (ELA).

Individuals chosen for the year-long program are vice presidents or cabinet officers who aspire to be college or university presidents or to perform more effectively in their current positions. Janssen will participate in two seminars in Washington, DC; the opening seminar will take place July 15–17, 2019, and the closing seminar will be held June 15–17, 2020. Janssen also will engage in readings, webinars, and a mentoring program throughout the academic year. In addition, she will develop and follow an experiential learning plan focused on specific areas of presidential responsibility.

The ELA is designed to prepare provosts and other vice presidents to serve as effective college presidents. “Competition for the available places in the program was intense,” said Richard Ekman, CIC President. “The review committee found the nomination materials to be most impressive. They (and I) believe that Jessica Janssen has the potential for highly effective leadership as a college or university president.”

Janssen received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Nebraska and a Master of Business Administration degree from Midland University.

“We value the work CIC does for private institutions like Midland and therefore are thrilled that Jessica was selected to participate in the Executive Leadership Academy program,” said Jody Horner, Midland University President. “This professional development opportunity aligns perfectly with our university’s vision to be relentlessly relevant. Her selection is well deserved, and we look forward to all that she will bring back to Midland as a result of her participation.”

Sixty-seven percent of participants in the first Executive Leadership Academy cohort (2011–2012) have since advanced in the higher education ranks, and 32 percent of participants in a recent cohort (2015–2016) have already moved up in the ranks. “These indicators suggest that CIC is helping to meet the leadership needs of higher education by offering highly effective leadership development programs for modest fees to member institutions,” said Ekman.

The Executive Leadership Academy is co-sponsored by CIC, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), and the American Academic Leadership Institute (AALI), with generous support from Academic Search, Inc. Linda M. Bleicken, president of AALI, will direct the program.

“I am sincerely honored to have been nominated and accepted into the Executive Leadership Academy,” said Jessica Janssen. “At each stage in my career, I have sought increased opportunities to build my skills as a leader, and I look forward to growing through the training, mentoring and leadership development offered through this esteemed program. I am truly humbled to be a part of a cohort of great leaders from public and private institutions from across the country, and cannot wait to soak up every opportunity to learn from their experiences.”

This year’s CIC Executive Leadership Academy Participants include; Regina D. Biddings-Muro, Vice President, University Advancement, California Lutheran University (CA), Kerry Calnan, Vice President for Innovation and Institutional Effectiveness, Nichols College (MA), Maria L. Cronley, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Ohio Northern University (OH), Michael Evans, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Southern New Hampshire University (NH), Ingrid Hayes, Vice President for Enrollment Management, Spelman College (GA), Susan Helwig, Vice President for University Advancement, Misericordia University (PA), Betsy B. Holloway, Vice President for Marketing and Communication, Samford University (GA), Jessica Janssen, Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Midland University (NE), Robert Kelly, Vice President and Special Assistant to the President, Loyola University Maryland (MD), Lisa Long, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Talladega College (AL), Kathryn A. Morris, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Butler University (IN), Sherri G. Mylott, Vice President, University Advancement, University of LaVerne (CA), Elavie Ndura, Vice President of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, Gallaudet University (DC), Veronica Owles, Vice President for Student Affairs, Stephens College (MO), Douglas J. Pisano, Founding Dean of Health Professions, St. Bonaventure University (NY), Lance Richey, Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Saint Francis (IN), and Renee G. Zehel, Vice President for University Advancement, Marywood University (PA).

Facebook icon Twitter icon
Back to All Posts

Related Posts

View post
View post
View post
View post
View post
View post
I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.