Site Search

Graduate Programs | Master of Special Education & Endorsements

Meet Us

Meet Our Faculty | Meet Our Staff

Meet the Faculty & Staff

The Walker School of Education works hard to provide programs that benefit learning outcomes and the students within our program. With the help of our faculty, students can not only benefit themselves, but they can also become leaders within their schools.

Meet Our Faculty

Mary Ritzdorf, Dean of the Walker School of Education
Dr. Mary Ritzdorf

Dean, Walker School of Education

BS, College of St. Mary; MEd, Doane University; EdD, College of St. Mary

Dr. Mary Ritzdorf serves as the Dean for the Walker School of Education. Ritzdorf’s career in education spans nearly 40 years, beginning with a 32-year tenure with Millard Public Schools, in which she served in various roles at both the elementary and middle school levels. After retiring from MPS, she was an assistant professor for math and technology at Doane University and also oversaw the supervision of student teachers. Ritzdorf moved to her alma mater, College of St. Mary, in 2019 where she served as Assistant Director for Education. Ritzdorf earned her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from CSM and earned both a Masters of Education in Educational Leadership and a Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction from Doane University. She gained her Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from CSM. 

Dr. Cammy Romanuck-Murphy, Director of Graduate Programs, Walker School of Education
Dr. Cammy Romanuck-Murphy

Director of Graduate Programs, Walker School of Education

BS, MS, Minot State University; MA, Wayne State College; EdD, Trident University International

Dr. Cammy Romanuck-Murphy serves as the Walker School of Education Director of Graduate Programs. Dr. Romanuck-Murphy holds an EdD in Educational Leadership from Trident University International, a Master of Arts in P-8 Educational Administration from Wayne State College, a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology, and a Bachelor of Science in Communication Disorders from Minot State University. She began her career as a Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) and remained an active SLP for nine years in K-12 education. In 2019, Dr. Romanuck-Murphy began teaching graduate courses as an adjunct instructor, in addition to her role as an SLP. She taught in the Masters and Doctoral programs at Trident University International in the College of Education and in the Communication Disorders undergraduate program at the University of Nebraska, Kearney. In 2021, Dr. Romanuck Murphy served as a full-time doctoral professor and research chair with Trident University International before accepting the Director of Graduate Programs role at Midland University.

Jane Byers
Jane Byers

Adjunct Instructor, Midland University

Jane Byers has worked in education in Nebraska for over three decades.  Predominantly in the field of special education, Jane has taught and supported individuals with learning differences from pre-kindergarten to graduation.

After serving as Director of Special Education in the Papillion LaVista Community Schools until 2017, Jane has engaged in various consultation projects with the Nebraska Department of Education and Educational Service Units.  Additionally, she has served as an adjunct professor in Special Education Law through the University of Nebraska-Omaha.

Jane was elected to the Nebraska Association of Special Education Supervisors’ (NASES) presidency in 2010 and was a member of the Special Education Advisory Council to the Nebraska Board of Education.  Jane has received several honors including Nebraska’s Distinguished Special Education Director of the Year in 2014, and the NASES Friend of Special Education Award in 2022.   Jane genuinely believes that all students can succeed. She often takes on an advocacy role on behalf of marginalized learners and the teachers who support them. 

Scott Eckman
Scott Eckman, EdD

Adjunct Instructor, Midland University

Scott Eckman, EdD, currently serves as a Regional Lead for Nebraska Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (NeMTSS) and as the Coordinator for Nebraska Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (NPBIS). Prior to his work for the state, Scott served as a Special Education Supervisor and a building administrator for Lincoln Public Schools. Scott earned his Educational Doctorate, Educational Specialist, and Masters degree in Educational Leadership from Doane University, and his Bachelors in Elementary Education, Special Education Endorsement, and Masters degree in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. 

Meet Our Staff

Our recruiting and advising team at Midland University is a valuable resource to students who have questions about their program, school schedule, or even what books to purchase for next semester!

Meghan Christensen
Meghan Christensen

Enrollment Specialist
Email Address: 
Phone Number: 402-941-6079

Schedule a Virtual Meeting

Brianna Ward at Midland University
Brianna Gieseking

Academic Advisor
Email Address: 
Phone Number: 402-720-5502

Schedule a Virtual Meeting

I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.